A day in the life of...ME! |We Got the FUNK

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

A day in the life of...ME!

I've been trying to write this post from my school laptop for over an hour and of course my internet decides to crap out! Ugh! This is literally the story of my life, nothing comes easy and I am always working. So here are something's you should know about me:

1. I am insanely OCD...I like organization, clean areas, and everything in its place.
2. I am a high school science teacher. I teach biology and chemistry. I love my job.
3. I was raised to be a hard worker and it helps that I am also very energetic.

Lately I have been reading awesome blogs written by some amazing SAHM's! I can relate to those mommies a lot because I am a SAHM every summer and I enjoy almost every moment of it. However, I feel like a point of view has been missing from the mommy blog world (or at least the ones I am following). Many of the blogs I read are also working mommies, but I don't get to read a lot on their perspective of being a full-time out of the house, working mom. So I thought I would share a day in my life to hopefully spark some of those other full-time mommies to share!!!

5:35 am- My alarm goes off and I hit snooze at least 2 times or until my 60lb dogs begin to jump on and off the bed forcing me out of bed before their noise wakes up Eyan.

6:00-feed the dogs, pick up any toys in the living room that I was to lazy to take care of the night before or unload the dishwasher. Head upstairs to get ready for work.

6:30- my mom comes to pick up Eyan. It's always a scramble to pack his bag, make his cup, make my lunch and both his and my quick breakfast. I'm allergic to most breakfast food so I usually eat something small like a granola bar, toast or bagel. Eyan always wants what I have so I give him part of whatever I have knowing full well he will eat a ton more at grandmas.

6:40- drive to work

7:05- arrive at work, grab my stuff and head to period 1.

7:15- teach teach teach! This weeks topic is genetics and punnett squares.

8:10- plan

9:15-teach 3 more hours straight and dream about my delicious lunch all while I deal with pubescent children and their amazing questions! Today's question that made me pause: Mrs. Funk does codominance happen in people? Me: I bet it could but I can't think of anything right off my head. Student: can you find out if that is why Michael Jackson was black and white? Me: ugh...think about if that was school appropriate.

12:15-LUNCH! Also more plan time, I usually make my copies for my last hour and the next days copies. I also grade, go to meetings, plan lessons, call parents and 50 other things including catching up on my favorite blogs!!!

2:05- teach my last class and count the minutes until I see my monster child.

3:00- bell rings, take my stuff back to my desk, quickly set up for the next day and grab all my bags and go out to my truck.

3:15- drive to Jens to pick up Eyan

3:45- pick up Eyan, snuggle the adorable kittens and visit with Jen! (after all she is my family and I love her just as much as my kid does!)

4:00-Drive home singing and laughing and talking about the cows we see on our way home.

4:15-Arrive at home, let out the dogs and grab something out of the freezer and thaw for dinner.  Watch some Mickey Mouse with Eyan and play for about an hour.

5:00-Start cooking dinner.  Tonight I made fancy macaroni and cheese (boiled asparagus, tri-color rotini, Johnsonville chicken sausage & ragu cheese sauce all mixed together...cook DELICIOUS time approx 20 mins...!)

5:30-Eat dinner as a family at the table.

5:45-I begin my daily ritual of cleaning my huge kitchen.  I load the dishwasher, wipe down all counters, clean the microwave, stove top, island, sink and put away dinner.  I need to have a clean kitchen and cleared counters to function.  This is one of my OCD issues.

6:00-Feed dogs dinner and fish too!  Then either play around with the baby, or do house chores for a couple hours.  Tonight I did 3 loads of laundry and put it away, vacuumed the main floor, scrubbed my gigantic kitchen floors and ran to Target because we were out of milk.

8:00-Bedtime for Eyan.  Includes a bath every other day (My mom gives him ones during the day on the evenings that I do not.)

8:30-Mommy and Daddy time to relax, read FB, blog, watch our shows, and spend time with each other.

9:30-Jason starts to get ready for work, I begin to doze off on the couch.

10:00-Jason leaves for work...I either fall asleep on the couch or head upstairs.  The day is over usually.

So this is my typical day.  I try to keep a pretty clean house, which means that I am constantly picking up messes after Eyan goes to bed or when he and his daddy are playing.  Tonight when I was cleaning the floors Eyan decided to help me which was funny!  I think this probably sounds like all I do is clean, but in reality I am talking and taking care of my family from the minute I get home.   I try to live by the motto that if the chore takes 60 seconds or less do it now and do it quickly (I heard this on Oprah and it really helps.)  These are simple chores like taking a minute and quickly putting away toys Eyan is not playing with, or putting those 1 or 2 dirty dishes in the dishwasher, changing the toilet paper roll and whatever other little thing I can do in 60 seconds or less.  I also choose 1 or 2 major chores to complete each day, sometimes I do them, others I don't...mostly they get left for the weekend and I play like crazy with my monster!

So working mommies, how do you balance it all?


2 comments:

  1. Well let me tell you how my day goes...
    5:15 alarm goes off
    5:18 in the shower
    5:30 out of the shower
    5:30-6:15 hair and makeup
    6:15 wake up Dion for work
    6:18-6:25 get mine and Dions lunch packed
    6:25-6:35 pack diaper bag and get boys clothes ready
    6:35-6:50 wake up Matthew and get him ready for the day along with his chocolate milk
    6:50-6:55 get breakfast for Dion (bagels, toast, fruit, smoothie etc...)Dion leaves for work
    6:55-7:10 get Austin ready for the day, get him a warm bottle
    7:10-7:15 get myself breakfast, and turn on the crock pot if we are having that for dinner.
    7:15 out the door to the sitters house we go
    7:30 arrive at baby sitters house drop boys off
    7:35 leave sitters house for work
    7:55 arrive at work
    8:00-12:00 work
    12:00-1:00 LUNCH!!! during this time I drive home depending what we are having for dinner, and I get something out of the freezer to thaw, or run errands post office, bank, whatever else.
    1:00-5:00 more work
    5:00-5:15 drive to sitters house
    5:15-5:30 chit chat with sitter then leave for home
    5:30-5:45 drive home
    5:45-6:00 get home and get boys situated, Austin some crackers and some water, Matthew with some gold fish and an apple juice box, turn on Mickey
    6:00-6:30 I start dinner if not already done in crock pot.
    6:30-6:45 finish up dinner and wait for Dion to get home
    6:45-7:00 we usually start eating sometimes as late as 7:30 we will eat just depending on what time Dion gets home.
    7:30 is usually bath time for the boys unless we get a late start to dinner then 8:00
    8:00 bedtime for Austin unless bathtime runs late then 8:30
    8:30 bedtime for Matthew unless bathtime runs late then 9:00
    depending on bedtime for the boys usually between 8:30 and 9:00 I am cleaning something, or running to the store.
    9:00-10:00 catch up on shows, or cleaning
    10:00-10:30 I watch the news a for a little bit, unless I am super tired, then I am in bed by 10.

    Its so hard having an 11month old and a 2 year old. I hardly get any play time with them on the weekdays, and to top it off I hardly get any Dion time. He works from 7-7 most of the time unless its holiday season (Oct-Dec) then he works from 5am-8pm (manager at Kmart DC)I have become a crock pot queen and have dinner in the crockpot at least 3 times a week.
    So now you know my daily routine!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That sounds even more insane that what I do daily! You go girl!!!!

      Delete

I adore reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts :)